Loading Events

Women’s Philanthropy Annual Meeting

Celebrating 72 Years of Women’s Philanthropy

Let’s Celebrate all of our accomplishments, thank our incredible leadership, and look forward to a new year of making a difference!

Friday, June 15th | 11:45 am

A kosher dairy lunch will be served
Soul Café
5586 Drake Rd, West Bloomfield Township, MI 48322
(Entrance on the side of the building)

There will be an optional 15 minute tour of the Dresner Foundation Soul Studio following the program.

Couvert: $36 • RSVP by June 11

Please contact Debbie Grossman at (248) 203-1456 or

2018 – 2019 Slate of Officers and Board of Directors

Nominees for the Women’s Philanthropy Board

Sue Kaufman

Campaign Vice-President
Betsy Heuer

Engagement Vice-Presidents
Norma Dorman, Sharyn J. Gallatin, Jodie Krasnick, and Jennifer Silverman

Corresponding Secretary
Randi Sakwa

Recording Secretary
Stacy Doctoroff

Designates to the Board of Governors of the Jewish Federation
Fran Newman and Sherrie Singer

First Three-Year Term Ending 2020
Shirley Cetner, Eden Elbinger, Wendy Kohlenberg, Michal Korman, Amy Shefman, Julie Sherizen, Robbie Sherman, Carole Shifman, Lori Siegel, Shari Stein, Nancy Stone

Second Three-Year Term Ending 2020
Margo Lazar, Andi Nitzkin, Denise Parr, Abbe Sherbin, Jennifer Silverman, Sherrie Singer, Carolyn Tisdale

New Advisory Service Council Member
Ellen Tenner

Summary of Proposed Changes to the Women’s Philanthropy By-laws
For Approval at the Women’s Philanthropy Annual Meeting, June 15, 2018

The changes noted below are made primarily to make the Governance Document easier to follow, to organize and clarify language and to reflect the current practices of Women’s Philanthropy.

    1.  Document Title:  Changed from “By-laws” to “Governance of WP”
      • Because Women’s Philanthropy is not itself a 501(c)(3), it does not legally have by-laws.  Rather, it can have a Governance Document.
    2. Article IV:  Board of Directors
      • Section 2:  Consists of…Added the chairs of the engagement programs (e.g. TOV, Community Connections) to the Board of Directors if they are not already Elected Directors.
      • Section 3: Terms of…
        • Clarified that Elected Directors can serve two three-year terms before rolling off the Board unless they are elected an Officer or are on the Executive Committee.
        • Chairs of Standing Committees may serve no more than two consecutive terms of one year each.
      • Section 5:  Vacancies(added here; was listed under Nominating Committee)
        Allows the Executive Committee to fill a vacancy on the Board rather than reconvening the Nominating Committee, and makes clear that it is not necessary to do so. The Nominating Committee will continue to fill any Officer vacancies that arise.
  1. Article VII:  Committees (was previously titled “Standing Committees”)
    • Adds Board Engagement as a Standing Committee and provides that the President can create any Ad Hoc Committee that she deems necessary.
    • Clarifies that a person can serve as a Standing Committee Chair for no more than two consecutive one-year terms. (was three)
  2. ArticleVIII:  Nominating Committee
    • Section 1:With respect to the Nominating Committee, provides that the Executive Committee chooses 3 members of the Nominating Committee and the President chooses 3 members.  (was that EC chooses 6)
    • Additional language inserted:  The current Campaign Chair and Associate Campaign Chair are ineligible to serve on the Nominating Committee.
  3.  Article IX:  Elections, Section 2 & Article XI:  Amendments
    • Eliminates the requirement of public notice of the slate prior to the Annual Meeting and public notice of any amendments to the Governance Document because public notice is not required and it is expensive.


Pre-Registration online is closed. To register, or for questions, please email Debbie Grossman at or call (248) 203-1456.

Upcoming Events


How to Raise an Adult


Conscious Leadership℠ A Workshop with Michelle Cantor


Blankets and Brews